LAST CALL: Rally for downtown school on March 3rd

This morning we read in the Devoir and the Métro that the project of building a primary public school on the former Montreal Children’s Hospital site had been abandoned. Despite the news of Devimco announcing publicly that the school would not be included on site, we believe that the project is still possible and we will continue to act accordingly.

As mentioned in the articles, while it is true that negotiations between the developers, the Commission scolaire de Montréal (CSDM) and the Minister of Education were slow, Devimco also benefitted from numerous advantages for the development of the site as a whole. Most notably, the Coderre administration accepted Devimco’s redevelopment project for the Children’s only 6 days after the Office of public consultation (OCPM) report was released. This is much faster than usual – in the end, Devimco has in fact had time on their side for project development – we believe this fact could buy the community some time with Devimco before he locks the door for good on the project.

Furthermore, Devimco is not the only developer of the Montreal Children’s Hospital site. Philip Kerub was not mentioned by either media source, but he holds the reins on part of the site that Devimco has no control over. Even though Devimco may no longer be open to having a school on his side of the site, there may still be a chance to negotiate with Mr. Kerub. Lastly, the new development has been dubbed the “Children’s Square” –  it would be rather ironic if the developers were set on abandoning the school on this 1.3 million square foot property.

With all of this in mind, it is more important than ever for us to send a united message – Our children’s education is more important than any economic or political goal . Please join us this Saturday March 3rd at 11am in Cabot Square (corner of Ste. Catherine and Atwater) to show all the key decision makers involved that we need them to work together towards a solution. There are currently 406 children in the Peter-McGill neighbourhood who must commute outside the district every day, and this number is only growing. We will be building an open air classroom from 11am – 1pm. Bring your friends and families – there will be activities for kids onsite including a juggling workshop, life size games, arts and crafts and banner making as well as free hot chocolate and snacks for all.

GET INVOLVED: We are also looking for volunteers, especially to help with set up and tear down. IF you are interested and available between 10-11am or 1-2pm please let us know.

Not able to attend? We are looking for testimonials! Are you a parent in the neighbourhood? Are you and your children affected by long commute times to school or overcrowding? If so, please get in touch with us to share your story. This will go a long way in getting the media, key decision makers and the general public to support our cause. E-mail communicationpic@petermcgill.org.

DERNIÈRE CHANCE: rassemblement le 3 mars pour une école dans Peter-McGill

Ce matin nous lisions dans Le Devoir et dans le journal Métro que le projet d’école primaire sur le site de l’ancien Hôpital de Montréal pour enfants avait été abandonné. Malgré l’annonce publique de Devimco mentionnant qu’il n’y aurait pas d’école sur le site, nous croyons que le projet est encore possible et nous continuerons d’agir en conséquence.

Comme mentionné dans les articles, il est vrai que les négociations entre les promoteurs, la Commission scolaire de Montréal et le Ministère de l’éducation ont pris du temps. Ceci étant, il faut reconnaître que Devimco a bénéficié de nombreux avantages dans le réaménagement du site dans son ensemble. En effet, l’administration Coderre a approuvé le projet de réaménagement de Devimco pour l’Hôpital de Montréal pour enfants seulement 6 jours après la publication du rapport de l’Office de consultation publique de Montréal (OCPM). Cette autorisation extraordinairement plus rapide que la normale – le temps a finalement joué en la faveur de Devimco – justifie, selon nous, que Devimco accorde davantage de délai à la communauté avant de fermer définitivement ses portes au projet d’école.

De plus, Devimco n’est pas le seul promoteur du site de l’ancien Hôpital de Montréal pour enfants. Les journaux ne font aucune mention de Philip Kerub mais il détient bel et bien une partie du site sur laquelle Devimco n’a aucun contrôle. Ce dernier a beau ne plus être ouvert à l’établissement d’une école sur sa partie du site, il se peut que des négociations soient encore possibles avec Mr Kerub. Enfin, ne serait-ce pas le comble de l’ironie de laisser tomber l’école sur cette propriété de 1.3 million de pieds carrés, alors que le projet de réaménagement a été nommé le « Children’s Square »?!

À cet effet, il est à présent plus important que jamais pour nous d’adresser un message unanime : L’éducation de nos enfants vaut plus que toute cause économique ou politique. Rendez-vous ce samedi 3 mars à 11h au Square Cabot (coin Sainte-Catherine et Atwater) pour démontrer aux décideurs concernés que c’est ensemble que nous trouverons une solution. Il y a actuellement 406 enfants dans le quartier Peter-McGill qui doivent faire des allers-retours hors du district tous les jours et ce nombre ne cesse d’augmenter. Nous bâtirons une école en plein air de 11h à 13h. Amenez vos amis et vos proches, plusieurs activités pour les enfants seront offertes sur place : atelier de jonglage, jeux géants, atelier de bricolage et création de pancartes ainsi que chocolat chaud et collations pour tous.

IMPLIQUEZ-VOUS: Nous sommes à également à la recherche de bénévoles, principalement pour le montage et démontage. Si vous êtes intéressé-e et disponible entre 10h et 11h ou entre 13h et 14h, faites-nous signe!

Vous ne pouvez pas participer à l’événement? Nous recherchons aussi des témoignages! Vous êtes un parent vivant dans le quartier? Vous et vos enfants êtes affectés par les longs trajets maison-école ou la surpopulation dans les écoles? Si oui, contactez-nous pour partager votre histoire. Écrivez-nous à communicationpic@petermcgill.org.

Ce contenu a été publié dans Uncategorized par MS. Mettez-le en favori avec son permalien.