A school in our neighbourhood? It’s possible!

A school in our neighbourhood? It’s possible!

The community has been working hard to mobilize to get public primary schools in the neighbourhood over the last few weeks, especially to make sure one on the former Montreal Children’s Hospital site becomes a reality. Currently there are 406 children in Peter-McGill that must go to neighbouring areas, commuting up to 2 hours a day by bus. These long journeys are a major hindrance to their integration and need to move around after school. By 2021 there will be at least 574 students – this number does not take immigration into account.


5 à 7 No School in Peter-McGill

On Wednesday December 6, A meeting was held with neighbourhood residents, including parents of students and community groups. We presented an overview of the situation, the 3 official requests for schools submitted by the Comission Scolaire de Montréal (CSDM) to the Education Ministry for 3 schools in Peter-McGill. The meeting was followed by a discussion where attendees identified the former Montreal Children’s Hospital site as a priority site for the neighbourhood’s first school. Why is it a priority? Because of its placement, the speed of construction if the project is accepted, and its location in a site that will bring together social housing, a community centre and a large park.

The conversations during the discussion allowed the group to come up with several actions to push things forward, including:

If you would like to see a public primary school get built in the neighbourhood, we invite you to participate in the actions described above. You will find a summary document attached along with the contact information for all of the main decision makers to send your colouring pages and letters to. We hope that the decision will be made at the beginning of next year.

Complete presentation of the school situation in Peter-McGill available here.

To write to a journalist, it’s here, and to write a letter to Education Minister Proulxit’s there (feel free to personalize it!).


Vernissage and art workshop exhibit

We are pleased to present the work of 13 students who participated in an art workshop to express their thoughts and feelings about the lack of public schools in the Peter-McGill neighbourhood. Over the course of the 3 day workshop, participants discussed their ideas and created hand drawn animated GIFS. The workshop was facilitated by Concordia Education PhD Candidate, Marie-Pierre Labrie. Here are two videos created by Marie-Pierre and the workshop participants!

Une école dans le quartier? C’est possible!

Une école dans le quartier? C’est possible!

Depuis quelques semaines, la communauté a doublé d’effort dans la mobilisation sur le dossier des écoles primaires dans le quartier, et plus particulièrement sur celle qui pourrait voir le jour sur le site de l’ancien Hôpital de Montréal pour enfant. À l’heure actuelle, il y a 406 enfants dans notre quartier qui doivent aller dans les quartiers avoisinants, prenant parfois 2h de trajet en autobus dans la journée. Ces longs trajets sont une entrave majeure à leur intégration et leur besoin de bouger après l’école. D’ici 2021, ils seront 574, et ces chiffres prennent en compte seulement la croissance démographique.

PORTRAIT DES BESOINS ET DES DEMANDES DÉPOSÉES PAR LA CSDM

5 à 7 Pas d’école dans mon quartier

Mercredi 6 décembre dernier s’est tenue une rencontre avec des citoyens du quartier, dont des parents d’élèves, et des groupes communautaires afin de présenter un portrait de la situation, les 3 demandes déposées par la Commission Scolaire De Montréal (CSDM) auprès du ministère pour 3 écoles dans Peter-McGill. S’en est suivi une discussion durant laquelle a été identifié un site prioritaire, celui de l’ancien Hôpital de Montréal pour enfant. Pourquoi prioritaire? De par son emplacement, de par la rapidité de construction si le projet est accepté et de par son implantation dans un site qui réunira du logement social, un centre communautaire et un grand parc.

Les échanges durant la discussion ont permis d’identifier des actions pour faire avancer le dossier, certaines ont donc été entamées :

Si vous aussi vous souhaitez voir une école primaire se construire dans le quartier, nous vous invitons à poursuivre les actions décrites ci-haut, vous trouverez un document résumé avec les adresses des décideurs à qui envoyer vos lettres et coloriage. Nous espérons que la décision soit rendue en début d’année prochaine!

Présentation complète de la situation des écoles dans Peter-McGill  disponible ici.

Pour écrire à un journaliste, c’est ici et envoyer la lettre au ministre Proulx c’est là (n’hésitez pas à la personnaliser)!

Vernissage et exposition atelier d’art

Nous avons le plaisir de vous présenter le fruit d’un travail de treize étudiants qui ont assisté à un atelier d’art avec comme but d’exprimer leurs opinions et sentiments à propos du manque d’écoles publiques dans Peter-McGill. Au cours des 3 jours d’atelier, les participants ont créé des GIFS animées et des cartes personnalisées de leur quartier. L’atelier était animé par une candidate au doctorat en Éducation des arts à Concordia, Marie-Pierre Labrie. Voici les liens vers 2 vidéos réalisées par l’artiste suite aux échanges avec les jeunes.

Ce contenu a été publié dans Uncategorized par MS. Mettez-le en favori avec son permalien.