Immigration

Did you know?

The Peter-McGill neighbourhood is home to over 12,000 immigrants, with almost half of them having arrived within the last 5 years, as well as over 7,000 non-permanent residents including refugees and international students.

Despite the fact that 12% of the population of Peter-McGill are newcomers to Canada, there are relatively few resources available to new immigrants in the district. As a result, we held a Forum on Immigration in 2016, which lead to the creation of the Immigration Committee in the summer of 2017. The committee brings together 9 organisations, as well as residents and students to develop initiatives to help with the integration and support of newcomers to Peter-McGill.

Objective

To work together to better understand the lived experiences of newcomers in the district and to develop initiatives to support their integration into neighbourhood life.

Resources

80 people gathered at the first Forum on Immigration in Peter-McGill, which took place on May 5th, 2016 at the YWCA, including newcomers, international students, permanent residents and Canadian citizens alike, with rich discussions on inclusion and integration.

Committee Members

  • Batshaw Youth & Family Centres
  • Carrefour jeunesse-emploi Montréal Centre-Ville
  • Chinese Family Services of Greater Montreal
  • Concordia University
  • FRJ
  • Institut national de la recherche scientifique (INRS)
  • International Students' Office (ISO) Concordia
  • Social Equity and Diversity Office (SEDE) McGill
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts
  • SHERPA Research Centre
  • St-Jax
  • Table de concertation pour les personnes réfugiées et immigrantes (TCRI)
  • Volunteer Bureau of Montreal
  • YWCA
  • 1 Peter-McGill Resident
  • 2 students

Immigration

Saviez-vous que...

Le district Peter-McGill compte plus de 12000 personnes issues de l’immigration, dont presque la moitié sont arrivées au cours des 5 dernières années, ainsi que plus de 7000 résidents non permanents incluant des réfugiés et étudiants internationaux.

Alors que 12% de la population de Peter-McGill sont des nouveaux arrivants au Canada, il existe relativement peu de ressources disponibles aux nouveaux immigrants dans le district. C’est pourquoi nous avons tenu en 2016 un Forum sur l’immigration menant à la création du comité immigration au cours de l’été 2017. Le comité regroupe 9 organismes ainsi que des résident-e-s et étudiant-e-s dans le but de développer des initiatives visant à favoriser une meilleure intégration et un meilleur soutien aux nouveaux arrivants dans Peter-McGill.

Objectif

Travailler collectivement à mieux comprendre le vécu des nouveaux arrivants dans le district et développer des initiatives visant à favoriser leur intégration dans la vie de quartier.

 

Ressources

Lors du premier Forum sur l’immigration dans Peter-McGill, qui a eu lieu le 5 mai 2016 au Y des femmes de Montréal, plus de 80 personnes sont venues se prêter à l’exercice: nouveaux arrivants, étudiants internationaux, résidents permanents, citoyens canadiens… l’événement était aussi riche en partage d’expériences et d’idées qu’en diversité.

Partenaires

  • Centre de recherche SHERPA
  • Centre Jeunesse Emploi - Centre-ville
  • Centres de la jeunesse et de la famille Batshaw
  • Concordia University
  • FRJ employabilité
  • L'Institut national de la recherche scientifique (INRS)
  • International Students' Office (ISO) Concordia
  • Musée des Beaux-Arts
  • PROMIS
  • Service à la famille chinoise du Grand Montréal
  • Social Equity and Diversity Office (SEDE) McGill
  • St-Jax
  • Table de concertation pour les personnes réfugiées et immigrantes (TCRI)
  • Y des femmes de Montréal
  • 1 résident du quartier Peter-McGill
  • 2 étudiants